A license is not required to install an alarm system in California. However, all alarm systems must be registered with the local police department. The registration fee is $10 for each system.
Alarm systems are a great way to deter burglars and keep your home or business safe. But before you install one, there are a few things you should know.
First, you don’t need a license to install an alarm system in California. However, all alarm systems must be registered with the local police department. The registration fee is $10 for each system.
Second, make sure your alarm system meets all the requirements of the California Fire Code. This includes having a loud enough siren to be heard from outside the building, and having a backup battery in case of a power outage.
Third, when choosing an alarm company, make sure they are licensed by the state of California. This ensures that they have met all the necessary requirements to do business in our state.
Installing an alarm system can give you peace of mind knowing that your home or business is protected. Just be sure to do your research first so you know what to expect.
1. While there is no state-wide law in California requiring a license to install alarm systems, many counties and cities have their own ordinances in place.2. Most jurisdictions require alarm installers to obtain a business license, and some also require a special alarm installer’s license.3. Check with your local authorities to find out what licenses, if any, are required for installing alarm systems in your area.
Frequently Asked Question
Do you need a license to install alarm systems in California?
What questions should I ask a home security company?
Do you need a license to be a house alarm installer company in CA?
Alarm companies, including those located outside of California that monitor systems in California, must also possess a BSIS license. Local governments may require alarm system owners or renters to pay a fee and obtain a permit to operate an alarm system. Likewise, alarm companies may need to obtain a business permit. 
8 Questions You Need to Ask Before Choosing a Home Security..How long have you been in business? .. Where are you located? .. Do you have a license to provide security service? .. What brand or brands of equipment do you provide? .. How often do you check your system? .. Are there extra charges involved in this service?More items.. 
In order for a company to seek licensure as an alarm company operator, the Qualified Manager (see below) must have passed the licensing examination. Undergo a criminal history background check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 
No, you do not need a license to install alarm systems in California. You just need to be over the age of 18 and have a valid ID.